Add and manage users

If you want to have more than one person doing your processing, consider adding more users to your Sage Business Cloud service.

Here we explain:

  • Adding a user

  • Setting up access levels

  • Editing a user

  • Removing a user

To invite users, to Accounting you must sign in as the business owner or a user with System Manager access. The business owner is the person who originally signed up to the service and has access to all areas.

If you have existing users for Accounting, and add a Payroll subscription, access to Payroll is not given by default. The business owner can grant existing users access to Payroll. Once a System Manager has been given access to Payroll, they can add other users to Payroll.

Note: If you have Sage Accounting Start and Sage Payroll on the same subscription, we only support one user.

Add a user

To add a new user:

  1. From Settings, select User Management.
  2. Select Invite User.
  3. Enter the user’s email address, then Save.
  4. Select whether you want the new user to have System Manager access. System managers have access to the User Management area too, so they can set up new users.

    Note: Only the business owner and new users with System Manager permissions can set up new users.

  5. Select the level of access you want your user to have. For Accounting you can specify access levels for each area. For Payroll, you specify the access level for the whole application.
  6. Save the changes.

Once saved, if it's a new user, they get an email inviting them to the Sage Business Cloud. The first time a new user signs in, they’re prompted to specify and confirm a password.

If it's an existing user, they simply need to log in.

Once a user has logged in for the first time, a tick is added to the Activated column. You can also see the date they last logged in.

Access levels

Additional users can be given different levels of permission for specific areas of Accounting. For Payroll, additional users can be given Full Access or No Access to the whole application.

The full list of access levels is as follows:

  • Read Only – The user can view data but they can’t enter or amend any details.
  • Restricted Access – The user can enter quotes, invoices, credit notes, payments and receipts. Access to the Journals, Settings and Statutory Reporting options defaults to No Access.
  • Full Access – The user has full access to all areas except Business Management, which is only fully available to the business owner.
  • No Access – The user has no access to the specified area and can’t view any data.

These options are available when adding or editing a user, in the Accounting - Advanced Permissions or Payroll - Advanced Permissions sections.

Note: If you change the permission level from the Role drop-down, this changes the permissions for all the Accounting and Payroll advanced permissions.

To find out about how access levels affect what tasks you can do, select an area to find out more.

Accounting access levels

Payroll access levels

For Payroll, you can either set a user's access level to Full Access or No Access.

Edit an existing user

  1. From Settings, select User Management.
  2. Select the relevant user, then amend their details as required.

The business owner cannot be edited.

Remove a user

  1. From Settings, select User Management.
  2. Select the delete button next to the relevant user name, then click Yes when prompted.

The business owner cannot be deleted.