Manage users

If you want to have more than one person processing your accounts, consider adding multiple users to your Accounting service. Use Roles to choose what options each user can access, from read-only to full access.

Payroll and Accounting Start only allow a single-user.

To invite users, you must sign in as the business owner or a user with System Manager access. The business owner is the person who originally signed up to the service and has access to all areas.

Roles

Assign one of the following roles to each user:

Read Only

The user can view data but not enter or amend any details.

Restricted Access

The user can enter invoices, credit notes, payments and receipts.

A restricted user:

  • Can’t edit, delete or void transactions.
  • Can’t access the Journals or Settings areas.
  • Can’t run statutory reports, such as the VAT Return.
Full Access

The user has access to all options within Accounting.

Custom

Set up your own roles, to specify which options users can access.

For example, you might want a user to have full access to sales but no access to the Banking area.

No Access

The user is unable to access any options within Accounting.

The following tasks require a user to have full access:

  • File a VAT Return or any other statutory forms online
  • Adjust a VAT Return
  • Make changes to your business or financial settings
  • Enter journals
  • Reconcile a bank account
  • View management reports
  • Access bank records
  • View bank balances

For more information about the options available to each role, see Detailed user access levels.

Add a new user

If you have more than one business set up in Accounting, you can invite the same or different users to each of your businesses. Once the user has accepted your invites, they can see the companies they have access to from the business list drop-down menu.

To invite an accountant see Invite an accountant

  1. Go toSettings, then select User Management.
  2. Select Invite User.
  3. Enter the user’s email address.
  4. If you want the user to have full access to all areas of Accounting, select the System Manager check box.

    A system manager can set up new users and change the access of existing users.
  5. From the Role drop-down list, choose the relevant role.

    If you want the user to have different access levels to the available options, choose Custom then Advanced Permissions. Select the required access for each area. For more information, please see the previous section.
  6. Click Save.

When you save, we send an email to the address entered, inviting your new user to access Accounting. The user can now activate their user account from the link in the activation email. The first time each new user signs into their Accounting or Payroll service, they’re prompted to enter a password and set up their security questions.

Once a user has signed in for the first time, a tick is added to the Activated column. You can also see the date they last logged in.

To invite another user, simply repeat steps 2 to 6.

Error - 'Email Invalid' when inviting a user

If you receive an error message saying ‘Email Invalid’ when trying to invite a new user to your account, this usually means that their email address is already being used. It’s most likely registered to your accountant’s Partner Edition of Sage Business Cloud Accounting.

Rather than adding an accountant as a user, use Invite Accountant instead.

Edit an existing user

  1. Go toSettings, then User Management.
  2. Select the relevant user, then amend their details as required.
  3. Click Save.

Delete a user

  1. Go toSettings, then User Management.
  2. Select the delete button next to the relevant user name, then click Yes when prompted.
  3. Click Save.

Related article