About user management

If you have other people working for your business, you can invite them to use Accounting. This allows employees to perform job-related tasks based on the security role you assign to them. For example, sales employees may enter quotes and invoices but cannot view financial information. Conversely, a bookkeeper may have access to all transactions and financial information. You choose a security role for each person before you send them an invitation.

Sending invitations

When sending invitations:

  • There is no limit to the number of invitations you can send.
  • There is no additional cost to add users.
  • Multiple users can work simultaneously without effecting program performance.
  • Only the business owner can invite users. The business owner is the person who signed up for and has full access to Accounting.

To invite a new user

  1. Click Settings.
  2. In the Customize section, click User Management.
  3. Click Invite User.
  4. In the Email field, enter the user's email address.
  5. If this user is a system manager, select the System Manager check box.

    Important! Select this check box only if you want the user to have full access to all areas. A system manager can access User Management, set up new users, and change the access of existing users.

  6. From the Role list, select the user's role.

    You can assign users one of the following roles:

    Full AccessThe user has access to all options.
    Read OnlyThe user can view data but not enter or change any details.
    Restricted AccessThe user can enter quotes, invoices, credit notes, payments, and receipts. By default, a restricted user cannot edit, delete, or void transactions and cannot access the Adjustments or Settings areas.
    No AccessThe user cannot access any features.
    CustomThis appears automatically if you select varying access levels for different features. For example, you might grant a user full access to Sales but no access to Banking.

    Full access is required to:

    • Change business and financial settings.
    • Enter journals and make corrections.
    • Reconcile a bank account.
    • View management reports.
    • Access bank records.
    • View bank balances.
  7. To set varying access levels to different features, click Advanced Permissions, and then select a level of access for each feature.

  8. Click Save. An email invitation with an activation hyperlink is sent to the email address you entered.

After the user signs in for the first time, they will be prompted to create a password and select security questions. Also, a check mark appears in the Activated column on the User Management page. To invite another user, click Invite User again.

To edit an existing user

  1. Click Settings.
  2. In the Customize section, click User Management.
  3. Click the user whose rights you want to edit.
  4. Edit the user's rights as needed, and then click Save.

Advanced Permissions

Sales

Read only The user can view but cannot edit entries.
Restricted access The user can:
  • Enter invoices and credit notes but cannot void them.
  • Edit or delete only draft invoices.
Full access The user has the same permissions as Restricted access and can edit or void invoices and credit notes.

Restrictions

  • To record a payment on an invoice, the user must have either Restricted access or Full access to Banking.
  • Users with No access or Read only access to Contacts can select a contact when creating an invoice or credit note. They can manually override the address but doing so does not change the contact's saved address.
  • Users can select products or services for an invoice or credit note, but they cannot create new records from the invoice.

Expenses

Read only The user can view but cannot edit entries.
Restricted access The user can:
  • Enter but cannot void invoices and credit notes.
  • Edit or delete only draft invoices.
Full access The user has the same permissions as Restricted access and the user can edit or void invoices and credit notes.

Restrictions

  • To record a payment on an invoice, the user must have either Restricted access or Full access to Banking.
  • Users with No access or Read only access to Contacts can select a contact when creating an invoice or credit note. They can manually override the address but doing so does not change the contact's saved address.
  • Users can select products or services for the invoice or credit note but they cannot create new records from the invoice.

Contacts

Read only The user can view but cannot edit contact details.
Restricted access The user can add or edit contact details.
Full access The user has the same permissions as Restricted access and they can:
  • Add or edit contacts.
  • Send statements.
  • Delete contacts.
Note:

Regardless of role or permission settings, you cannot delete a contact who has transactions.

Restrictions

Users with No access to Sales, Expenses, or Banking can view customer activity but cannot see transaction details.

Products and Services

Read only The user can view:
  • All (stock and non-stock type) product records.
  • All service records.
  • The Category list.
  • Existing stock adjustments.
Restricted access The user can:
  • Enter and edit all (stock and non-stock type) product records, but cannot delete them or edit prices.
  • Enter and edit all service records, but cannot delete them or edit prices.
  • Enter, edit, and delete categories.
  • Create new stock adjustments.
Full access The user can:
  • Enter, edit and delete all (stock and non-stock type) product records.
  • Enter, edit and delete all service records.
  • Edit prices.
  • Enter, edit and delete categories.
  • Create and edit stock adjustments.

Restrictions

Access levels to other areas have no effect.

Bank

Read only The user can view all entries but cannot edit them or enter new transactions.
Restricted access The user can enter payments, receipts, and bank transfers.
Full access The user can:
  • Enter payments, receipts, and bank transfers.
  • Reconcile bank accounts.
  • Pay into bank from the cash account.
  • Access bank records.
  • View bank account balances.

Restrictions

If users cannot access:

  • Sales, Expenses, or Adjustments, they can view the bank activity but cannot view transaction details.
  • Contacts, they can select a contact when recording payments or receipts but cannot view the saved contact record.

Adjustments

Read only The user can view journals and corrections but cannot edit them.
Restricted access The user cannot access Adjustments.
Full access The user can create, edit, delete, and manage journals and make corrections.

Restrictions

Access levels to other areas have no effect.

Reporting

Read only The user can view all reports.
Restricted access The user:
  • Can view customer and vendor reports, depending on their access to the Sales and Expenses areas.
  • Cannot access management reports.
Full access The user can view all reports.

Restrictions

To view:

  • Management reports, users must have Read only access or Full access.
  • Customer reports (for example, Accounts Receivable), users must have access to Sales.
  • Vendor reports (for example, Accounts Payable), users must have access to Expenses.

Settings

Read only The user can view all settings except User Settings.
Restricted access The user cannot access Settings.
Full access If the user has Full access and is also a System Manager, they can edit all settings except for Service Settings and Billing Settings. If the user has Full access but is not a System Manager, they can edit only User Settings.

Restrictions

Only the business owner can edit all settings (including Service Settings and Billing Settings).